How to identify context ID that is presented in Edgar?

Aug 8, 2013 at 7:54 PM
Hi All!
I am new to all XBRL area, so my question may be already answered by I cannot find any references. Any help will be appreciated. So here is the problem. In 10-Q reports stored in SEC edgar system you can find multiple values associated with one xbrl gaap tag. For example ProfitLoss tag will show multiple values. The obvious difference is the context ID. However, in interactive report viewer (ex. http://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/viewer?action=view&cik=51143&accession_number=0001104659-13-058041&xbrl_type=v#) only some contexts used. How to identify the contexts that used in standard presentation? Apparently they should be encoded in some xml_ext files, but where?

Thank you.
Coordinator
Aug 9, 2013 at 2:56 PM
Hello!

Thanks for your message. I don't have an answer for you right at this moment, but let me do some research and get back to you. I just wanted to let you know that I have received your message so that you didn't think that no one was listening. I'll be in touch soon.

Thanks for trying Gepsio!
Aug 9, 2013 at 3:30 PM
Thank you, Jeffrey.
Just one more bit of information that may help to find an answer. SEC published C# code of their XBRL rendering engine http://www.sec.gov/spotlight/xbrl/renderingenginelicense.htm . It somehow solves the problem of identifying the context ids to show in presentation. I was not able yet to figure out how they did it. Unfortunately, my knowledge of XBRL is too limited yet.

Thank you for Gepsio and for fast reply.
Coordinator
Aug 9, 2013 at 3:33 PM
Let me restate your question to make sure I have it recorded correctly. Please correct me where I am wrong.

An XBRL document defines several contexts. Find the subset of contexts that are actually used in a presentation.

Do I have that right?
Aug 9, 2013 at 3:37 PM
You nailed it. Thanks.
Coordinator
Aug 9, 2013 at 3:46 PM